Our Week of Gratitude: Volunteers

WOGratitudeWebHero

During our Week of Gratitude we celebrate the generosity of TheatreWorks’ community members, including you!

We’re grateful for each person who plays their part here at TheatreWorks. Please enjoy a few stories from your fellow community members who, like you, make a difference at TheatreWorks, as well as in our greater Silicon Valley community.

So give yourself a round of applause! TheatreWorks staff might put on the show, but you’re the inspiration.

Monday, November 20: VOLUNTEERS

Around 500 volunteers contribute 6,000 hours each season. They’re the friendly faces who greet you at the theatre; they provide expert support in the headquarter offices; and they even partner with our artistic staff to organize auditions and rehearsals.

We are grateful for their time, energy, and talents. Take some time to meet a few of your volunteers, and feel free to send us your answers to the questions as well!

 

Bob Jackson Photo

Bob Jackson

BOB JACKSON

How many years have you been a part of TheatreWorks?
Five years as a Properties Assistant, and then four years as an usher.

Why do you volunteer at TheatreWorks?
I think TheatreWorks is a good organization and I enjoy my association with the people.

What is your favorite part of volunteering?
I get to see high quality theatre productions.

Which production is your favorite?
Proof
and The Chosen.

If you could star in any past TW production, which character would you play?
Mr Weston in Emma.

 

Mabel Lee Photo

Mabel Lee

MABEL LEE

How many years have you been a part of TheatreWorks?
I’ve been volunteering at TheatreWorks for three years, and over ten years volunteering at various other organizations and venues.

Why do you volunteer at TheatreWorks?
I volunteer to provide a valuable resource to the organization and community, and at the same time, I get to see and enjoy the play or reading.

What is your favorite part of volunteering?
I enjoy giving my time to the organization and providing patrons with a positive experience.

Which production is your favorite?
Daddy Long Legs 
and Hershey Felder as Irving Berlin.

If you could star in any past TW production, which character would you play?
I would play Jerusha Abbott in Daddy Long Legs.

Barbara Maher Photo

Barbara Maher

BARBARA MAHER

How many years have you been a part of TheatreWorks?
I joined the TheatreWorks family as a volunteer in 2014.

Why do you volunteer at TheatreWorks?
I have been a season subscriber for over twenty years. When I retired from teaching, I decided volunteering with TheatreWorks was a good way to pay back for all the amazing and wonderful evenings of entertainment.

What is your favorite part of volunteering?
Volunteering with TheatreWorks has given me the opportunity to become part of a very special group of people who are dedicated to making professional theatre happen.  I love being a part of the behind-the-scenes workings of a great regional theatre.

Which production is your favorite?
I loved Crowns. The deep friendships of the women and the incredible hats made me happy. Memphis made me want to get up to sing and dance.

If you could star in any past TW production, which character would you play?
As a young person I would want to play Jerusha in Daddy Long Legs. As a senior, I would like to be Mrs. Clackett in Noises Off.

Do you have a special or memorable moment volunteering at TheatreWorks?
A most special moment for me was when my four-layer chocolate salted caramel cake went for $1,700 at the Dessert Dash for the gala three years ago. Made me proud to have brought such a hefty price for a cake!

 

 

Version 2

Terry Maher

TERRY MAHER

How many years have you been a part of TheatreWorks?
A little more than three years (Barbara and I started in 2014).

Why do you volunteer at TheatreWorks?
I love the theatre. I have a great appreciation for the stories, actors, music, and costumes.  I have always had a fantasy of being on stage, though my imagination far exceeds my actual talent. Volunteering for TW gives me the thrill of experiencing the inner works of the show and then I get to sit back, relax, and be transported to another place when I see the show.

What is your favorite part of volunteering?
I really enjoy the process from behind the scenes. I love supporting the whole team—so many people give their heart, soul, and talent to make a production happen. It is so exciting to see the show when I’ve met the people that make it happen. Food is a way to bring people together and create community. I believe that food nourishes the body and soul. I cook with love and imagine people feel it in the food they eat.

Which production is your favorite?
I loved Crimes of the Heart. I laughed and cried and laughed while I was crying. It was a wonderful story that showed the strength of the sister bond and love. The dancing in The Prince of Egypt was absolutely breath-taking. I was in awe of the collaboration of body movement to create such vivid scenes.

If you could star in any past TW production, which character would you play?
I would be Babe from Crimes of the Heart. I can relate to being the youngest sister (I am the youngest of seven: five girls, two boys) and how crazy dynamics can be in a family. I love how sassy she is: “I didn’t like his looks! I just didn’t like his stinking looks!” Babe has a big heart and tries to protect the people she loves.

Do you have a special or memorable moment volunteering at TheatreWorks?
I have many fond memories, but I think that the first gala I helped with was really special. It was the 2015 gala Tonight Tonight and I helped set up, decorate, serve food, and was part of the cleanup team. I was so excited to help in so many ways. I worked with Managing Director Phil Santora to transform the TW warehouse space into a magical wonderland. I felt like I was on the stage crew for a major production—I busied myself with the staple gun, spray glue, paint, x-acto knife and lots of things that glittered. It was tedious work at times—dear Phil is a perfectionist after my own heart; but so rewarding. I was thrilled to see so many happy guests the night of the event. I was serving food and enjoyed meeting so many attendees. It was a wonderful experience start to finish. I was hooked!

Learn more about volunteering at TheatreWorks.

Leave a Reply

