Meet the TheatreWorks Silicon Valley Artistic Engagement Apprentices!

photo 5

Introducing our 2015 Artistic Engagement Apprentices! Pictured here with “Artistic Director Robert Kelley”.

Now in it’s second year, our Artistic Engagement Apprentice program (or, TAEA for short) is designed to give emerging theatre artists a well-rounded experience within a professional company by learning from multiple departments. You may have spotted them in action earlier this summer at the New Works Festival, pouring wine in the J. Lohr Lounge and reading stage directions. During their time at TheatreWorks Silicon Valley, these apprentices will be working in our administrative office, gaining an understanding of arts marketing and education management, in addition to assisting with major events such as Anything Goes. As a capstone to their experience, they will performing in our production of Emma this December alongside our professional cast, under the direction of Artistic Director Robert Kelley and Musical Director William Liberatore.

Before the show, get to know this unique group of talented, emerging artists:

photo 1

Brigitte Losey

Hometown: Redwood City

Alma Mater: Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

First acting role: I was six or seven when I played Smee in Peter Pan!

Favorite actor/actress: I will see, read, or follow anything involving Amy Poehler.

Favorite play or musical: It changes all the time, but a classic for me is Into the Woods.

What are you most looking forward to during your time at TheatreWorks Silicon Valley?: I’m most hoping to gain an understanding of the innerworkings of a professional theatre company and gaining skills in marketing and management. I’m also really looking forward to Emma! The New Works Festival was really exciting because we were around so many artists, creativity, and I was able to see some really great shows!

photo 2

Neiry Rojo

Hometown: Palm Desert

Alma Mater: UC Santa Cruz

First acting role: I was “Cheerleader #3” in a comedy skit, but my first role in an actual play was Gwendolyn in The Importance of Being Earnest.

Favorite play or musical: Black Watch– National Theatre of Scotland

What are you most looking forward to during your time at TheatreWorks Silicon Valley?: I’m hoping to gain a better understanding of how a theatre company runs, learning what you have to do in order to put on a good show and find the right people.

photo 4

Rebecca Euchler

Hometown: Fremont

Alma Mater: CSU Sacramento

First acting role: Ensemble in Little Shop of Horrors

Favorite actor/actress: Amy Poehler

Favorite play or musical: Sweeney Todd

What are you most looking forward to during your time at TheatreWorks Silicon Valley?: I’m hoping to learn about the behind-the-scenes aspect of the industry. I feel that a lot of actors probably don’t get the chance to learn about the office components that go into making a show successful. It’s important to me to know how it all works. I’m looking forward to getting to work with the wonderful people of TheatreWorks!

photo 3

Alyssa Esquilin

Hometown: Modesto

Alma Mater: San Jose State

First acting role: Many a Christmas pageant at church. My brother played Joseph.

Favorite actor/actress: Emma Thompson

Favorite play or musical: You can always find me rocking our to Rent while driving and Hairspray is a go-to pick me up. The soundtrack to Hamilton is sooooo good, but I haven’t seen it yet.

What are you most looking forward to during your time at TheatreWorks Silicon Valley?: I just hope to learn as much as I can while being onstage with my fellow apprentices!!!

Reserve your seats now to see the TAEAs in Emma!

Leave a Reply

